I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Telecaster Build

leave a comment »

So I’ve been playing guitar for a long, long time, but I’ve never owned a left=handed electric guitar.  All of my electrics have been right-handed ones that I’ve flipped over.  This is generally OK, but there are things that are annoying (the controls are up top, the cable comes out of the top, the pickups tilt in the wrong direction, the tuners are wrong).

I picked up a little left-handed telecaster DIY kit on Ebay.  I’ve always had stratocaster copies—never had a telecaster—so I thought this would be an interesting experiment.

The kit arrived in the middle of last week, and once I got free from my obligations, I sanded it with 100 grit sandpaper, then 220 grit, and finally steel wool.  This is what it looked like once I was done sanding:
Telecaster Body Sanded

I wasn’t sure how it would take stain, so I drove down to SLC with a woodworker friend to MacBeath’s lumber, where I picked up a couple of feet of the basswood that this guitar body is made from.  I sanded those down and tested stains last night, finally settling on a red chestnut finish.

Today, I set about staining.

Here it is with the wood conditioner applied:
Telecaster Body with Stain Conditioner

And then the first coat of stain:

Telecaster Body: First Coat of Stain

And the second coat:

Telecaster Body: Second Coat of Stain

And the fourth coat:
Telecaster Body: Fourth Coat

And the sixth coat:
Telecaster body: Sixth Coat

And then dry fit together to check the placement of a couple of parts:
Dry Fitting

Once the stain is dry, I’ll smooth it out with some steel wool, and then I’ll hit it with a light coat of a satin varnish, which should darken it up and bring out the grain even more than the stain does.

Then the hard part: installing the bridge and the neck and doing the wiring.

Written by srogers

March 10, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Posted in Around Here

Leave a Reply

