I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Accidental 10K

with one comment

I slept in this morning. I haven’t been getting enough sleep lately, and it all just sort of built up to me sleeping in this morning. I told Shelley I was going to go for a quick 5K and that I’d be back in a half an hour.

I took off on my normal loop only to find that there was an 18 hour endurance race (teams of 6 running a [also my normal] 10K loop as many times as possible over 18 hours) going on. I had been stopped by one of the organizers a few days ago as I made my way down 29th street. I’ve been seeing him on the trails for years; he’s part of what a friend calls “the bald-headed man brigade,” because he’s one of a group of runners who all have shaved heads (like me!) who stop to chat at a couple of spots on the trail. I see him all the time. He pulled over in his car and hailed me. He said that he saw me all the time on the trails and that he was organizing a race soon, and that even if I wasn’t interested in racing, I might want to volunteer to guide people on the trail at night, since I was familiar with it.

I wasn’t interested, since I’m just letting a mild strain in my left thigh heal, but as I finished up my run, I kept thinking to myself that I guess there’s no denying it: I’m a part of the running community here. It’s a nice feeling, and one that I’ve been feeling more and more often lately—not just the running community, but the city as well. We’ve been here nearly ten years, and now, when we go places, we see people we know. We get invited to community events. That kind of thing.

So anyway, today when I reached the point in my loop where I have to decide whether to run my normal loop or take one of the the higher trails (which means a few hundred feet more of hill work), I decided to go high. I went along the trail for a bit and then reached another choice: the endurance race had marked a trail that I’d never taken. I went with it, assuming that it would somehow hook up with the higher trail on my normal loop.

I was wrong.

As I proceeded up this trail, it got steeper and steeper—at one point, it was so steep and so narrow and so deep that even Molly was scrambling to make her way up it.

And while this is happening, it becomes clear to me that I am moving in the opposite direction to the endurance race. So while I’m slogging up this steep hill, runners are flying down it in the opposite direction to me.  The nice thing?  I kept bumping into people I knew.

Eventually, we entered a clearing that connected with a trail that I recognized: the Bonneville Shoreline.

This was not going to be a short run, after all.

I texted Shelley and told her that I’m accidentally going to run a 10K.

Written by srogers

August 11, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Posted in running

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Like The Most Interesting Man in the World, who “once ran a marathon because it was on his way.”

    Linkmeister

    August 14, 2012 at 8:31 pm


Leave a Reply

