I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

This Week in Remodeling

leave a comment »

This morning, we put in the shower drain and got it all connected up, then put down a sheet of plywood where the tub used to be to a) level the floor and b) cover up a bunch of holes now that we’ve moved pipes.

Bathroom Remodel: Day 8, Shower Drain!

Nothing is leaking. Yet.

Miguel framed up the wall for the shower taps and ran a line for the second shower head.

Bathroom Remodel: Day 8, Sheetrock!

Bathroom Remodel: Day 8, Shower Head Elbows!

Some sheetrock went up.

Then, I DROVE ALL OVER THE FRAKKING UNIVERSE.

driving

It all started innocently enough. I went to the plumbing supply place to get the kind of valve I wanted (one of those that have a little valve so you can set the ratio of hot to cold and then one where you just adjust the water pressure). After terrifying me with a $600 price tag for one that allows you to actually set the temperature, the guy turned me on to one that looked nice. I said “I’ll take it,” and then, as we were discussing things, I mentioned that I was putting in two shower heads and that I was just going to T out of the valve into the two heads. He immediately shook his head and insisted that that wouldn’t work, claiming that I would never have equal water pressure in both heads, and then explained that I needed a valve with a special regulator in it. Luckily, it was only a little more expensive than what I was getting. I mean, I was expecting this to be expensive (although not as expensive as the tempered glass we’ll be installing), but this was about $50 more than I expected.

And then it turned out that they didn’t have the valve there. I needed to drive to Roy to pick it up. But first, I drove up to the Home Despot just down the road to pick up a few small things. Then, out to 1900 South and down to Roy. No big deal. I found the place just fine, picked up the part, and then started back north to Ogden.

Except as I was exiting into Riverdale (to stop by another Home Despot), I remembered that I’d forgotten to go to Layton and pick up Shelley’s plates for her Jeep. So once I finished up at the Home Despot, I went back out to Riverdale Road and then PROMPTLY MISSED THE EXIT FOR THE INTERSTATE. So I kept going. All the way around the airport. And then? Right back onto 1900 and 10 blocks away from where I had started.

I drove on down to 5400 and hopped onto I-15 and started down to Layton, WHERE I PROMPTLY TOOK THE WRONG EXIT. And upon getting to the intersection, did I smartly turn right, which would allows me to turn around and get back on the freeway? NO. I turned left and then stupidly wound my way around the Layton Hills Mall to get to the next major intersection.

And then, on the way back, I had to stop at Home Depot again.

I swear to god, if there was a wrong turn I could make, I made it. It was just one of those days. And what made it worse was that every time realized I’d screwed up, I got that same feeling I do when I’m working on the yard and my earbuds get ripped out of my ears: like I could, in that moment, punch a kitten.

Written by srogers

May 19, 2012 at 2:17 am

Posted in Around Here

Leave a Reply

