I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Bee’s Knees

with 4 comments

When I broke my foot a few years ago, the doctor came into the room and said “You broke your foot.” I said, “You know, I was a soccer player when I was a teenager. I have probably done this before.” He pointed at the x-ray and said, “You see that right there? You broke your ankle at some point.”

***

I have been having some trouble with my right knee since sometime in November. It’s nothing horrible. A slight sensitivity or tenderness. It doesn’t really get much better when I take time off from running. It doesn’t really feel worse after I run.

This week, I finally decided to go to the doctor to rule our ACL/MCL/meniscus issues. Hey, it’s only been 4 months.

The doctor and his student bent my knee in all sorts of directions and eventually resorted to drawing an X on the spot where it’s tender (it’s difficult for me to make it smart when I’m sitting). Then they told me to put on a gown and that someone would be around to take me down for an x-ray–just to rule out anything bone-related.

Aside: you want to try something difficult? Make a fist with your non-dominant hand. Now try to tie a hospital gown in the back like that. IMPOSSIBLE.

So a woman came and took me down to radiology where she took three xrays of my knee. Then she sent me back to the room.

The doctor came in and said “Hey. Did you ever do anything to your patella, like a long time ago?” I said “Yeah, I broke it. when I was about 11.”

He chuckled and said, “Well, it’s still in two pieces.”

***

The diagnosis is an irritation of the plica, and he suggested that I back off the running, take some anti-inflammatories, and get a bike.

So this weekend I’m going to go down to our local bicycle collective and see what they have in a road bike.

Written by srogers

March 9, 2012 at 4:51 am

Posted in running

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Blech. I still have bits of wire in my knee from when the doc reattached the patellar tendon after I severed it 14 years ago. It’s frequently uncomfortable but rarely painful.

    Linkmeister

    March 9, 2012 at 5:43 am

  2. Ah!! I LOVE bicycling – let’s go!!

    Leah

    March 9, 2012 at 4:22 pm

  3. Well hell! I’ve been saying for years that running was for the chased! Sorry about your patella, fella.

    Greg

    March 9, 2012 at 5:16 pm

  4. holy cow. that’s just bizarre.

    Becky

    March 11, 2012 at 2:51 am


Leave a Reply

