I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

‘Round Here

leave a comment »

We’ve been incredibly busy.  I’m on a project for the Board of Regents that is sucking up massive amounts of time and routinely requires meetings on weekends and evenings.  Shelley and I are both on two different hiring committees at work, and each of our committees had over 100 applicants for each job.  My committee did all its campus interviews last week and this and so we’re done.  Shelley’s committee is just beginning to bring people in to interview.

Classes are going well.

I’m getting ready to start gigging again.  Sat in with a fiddle player a few weeks ago and had fun.  Some ducks to get in a row, first, but I’ll start making contact with a few places soon.  One of the frustrating things around here, apparently, is that the places don’t pay well.  When I was playing regularly, I wanted $75-100 an hour—two hours minimum.  Folks here apparently want to play $75 for 3 hours regardless of how many people are playing.  We’ll see.  If they won’t pay, I’ll look in SLC.

My Silvertone 1482 amp caught fire and is in the shop.

I’m still running a lot, although I had to back off the distances to let some tendonitis in my knee heal. For the past few weeks, I’ve only been running 5K during the weeks (Monday through Friday) and then 10K on Saturday.  I take Sundays off, now (at least for the time being).

I took the long weekend last week and did battle with our pantry.  I installed a large shelving system and put in a bunch of lazy susans and got some containers for things.  It looks better.

I got my sister’s old iPhone a while ago, but it has been updated and can’t be unlocked to use with T-Mobile.  I don’t know why it took me so long to realize I could do it, but this week I went to the AT&T store and bought a prepaid SIM card for it.  Then I added a $5/250 texts option.  Considering how rarely I make voice calls, this could work out to be considerably cheaper than Tmo.  Also, there’s a $15 100MB data package I can add to it.  I think it works like the texts: I get 100MB to use until it’s gone (I’m sure there’s a time limit, but I don’t mind that).  So I have an iPhone now without a data plan.  I’m happy, mostly because I only have to carry one gadget around.

My sister and brother-in-law are coming up this week to visit.  

I’m about to make a better privacy shield for our hot tub.  Before and after pictures to follow.

Written by srogers

February 25, 2012 at 11:28 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

