I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Picking and Grinning

leave a comment »

So yesterday, as I was walking out the building, I bumped into a friend from another department who I know to be a professional player of Irish music. I’ve been frustrated for a while now by not knowing any local musicians (I just don’t have the time or inclination to go hang out in the local music store to try to hook up with people), and I had been meaning to contact him to see if he knew anyone who needed a guitar player or a singer. So I asked.

Turns out, he was having a pick and grin that night at 7:00.

I was honestly a little nervous since I had no idea what to expect in terms of the music or the musicianship, but I was really looking forward to playing with people instead of sitting in my basement and recording.

There were about 7 people at the beginning: the host (pipes), me (guitar), a short-scale banjo and pipe player, two guitarist aside from me, a bouzouki player, and a fiddle player. There were a couple of people who were just hanging out, occasionally picking up a bodhran and banging along.

It was a pretty wide range of musicianship; the pipe players were really good; some of the guitar players were more or less beginners. We had a good time going round the group and calling out songs from a fake book with the “suggested” chords and music for the A and B.

About 10:00, though, a group of women showed up (guitar, fiddle, and mando) who were pretty good, so the playing really picked up and we ripped through a ton of .

Now that I think about it, this roughly coincided with the appearance of the whiskey, so that could be a part of it, too.

It was a good time. I haven’t played with people in a long, long time, and I’ve missed it.

And holy crap, my fingertips are sore.

Written by srogers

November 12, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Posted in Music

Leave a Reply

