I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekend

with 3 comments

Shelley and I went up on the mountain Friday to say at a friend’s cabin. It’s heaven up there. 8300 feet up. The view is of the tops of the surrounding mountains. We generally drive up, hang out reading, cook some steaks, build a fire, watch the campfires on the mountains to the south blink into view, then wait for the moose to show up.

This is the first time we’ve not seen at least one moose.

You wake up with the sun up there, which means that we have to force ourselves to stay asleep until 7:00. We woke up, ate some yogurt, cleaned ourselves up, and were off the mountain by 11:00 or so.

After a cheeseburger for lunch, I set about extending our deck in the back. When I made this deck I replaced a crappy brick patio; now I’m pulling more brick up and building a proper deck. It took about 5 hours to get the brick pulled and the area cleared so that I could sink the posts. It also took the genius input of my neighbor Karl, who saved me a boatload of time by pointing out that I should do something simple instead of the complex thing I was intending to do.

I got three posts in the ground today. I’ll sink another 3 tomorrow and install the runners. Now that everything is cleared, I don’t think it will take too long. The problem now is that the decking is so expensive ($28 per 12′ board; I need 9 of them) I will have to wait a little while before I can afford to finish the stupid thing.

Written by srogers

July 17, 2011 at 3:59 am

Posted in Around Here

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know this will make you larf, but from this distance, your life seems utterly idyllic.

    meg

    July 17, 2011 at 5:32 am

  2. You obviously missed the post about the $12,000 plumbing bill! I’d list off more horrific things, but I need to go tend my sheep and write poetry.

    srogers

    July 17, 2011 at 2:23 pm

  3. We have wonderful friends who like to share (phones, cabins, beer).

    My mom is getting into town next week, and we are going up next Friday.

    The way we “pay back” the guy who shares his cabin w/ us is by taking up stuff. For example, the next time we go up, we are taking a mesh screen for the front “door” to reduce the bugs (flies, wasps, bees, mosquitoes ) that LOVE to come inside. Also, Molly can come and go as she pleases.

    We’re also taking a blind to shade the setting sun.

    maxxthebird

    July 17, 2011 at 5:14 pm


Leave a Reply

