I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Positioning

leave a comment »

So I broke down yesterday and bought a Garmin 405 GPS watch.

Garmin 405

It should be here on Saturday.

I’ve been thinking about this for a long time, and while I have been coveting the Nike+ GPS watch, I just can’t justify the expense. I briefly considered the Garmin 305, but it’s just huge and weird looking.

Garmin 305

For months now, I’ve been unhappy with the Nike+ system. It crashes. It locks up. Sometimes it pauses randomly, which makes the volume go so low that when I turn it up, the Nike+ feedback voice is so loud that it rattles my eardrums. Sometimes, it tells me that a run on Tuesday is 9.98KM, then tells me that the same run on Thursday is 8KM.

I have to admit that I feel kind of weird about this. One of the things I like about running is that it really doesn’t require anything. It doesn’t even require clothes. Or shoes. You just go outside and run.

But I really want to know how far I’m running. And at what speeds. And what my elevation differences are (often, I’m dealing with about a 600′ climb). My suspicion is that is that, Sunday, I will be completely demoralized when I find out that what I have thought was a 10K run was only a 3K run.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 4:53 am

Posted in running

Leave a Reply

