I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

A while back, I was having some bizarre problems with firewire video capture on my iMac coming out really dark—and being all but unwatchable. I contacted the makers of my firewire video capture thingy. I posted on Mac discussion fora. I contacted the maker of BTV, the software I use to watch TV in OS 10.

Nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch.

Everyone agreed that it was odd, though. A couple of people said that had the same problem. One guy said that it had something to do with the nature of the DV codec itself (something about the way it registers black).

So tonight, I was doing some video capture work for some friends (who I probably ought to charge) and, when my iMac (which has the plague, as I said earlier tonight) went all fritzy, I went about capturing the video on my iBook.

Lo and behold! The video looked fine. It wasn’t dark at all. The video captured on my iBook was beautiful.

Soooo…I’m busily reformatting my iMac’s hard drive (again) right now. This time, I’m wiping all data on it (and not merely one of the partitions). I’m beginning to suspect that there was a firmware update somewhere that I either missed (or didn’t) that is the culprit here.

I’m not doing this just because of the video thing. I’ve been getting lots of errors, and Norton says that it can’t repair the errors it finds on my hard drive.

Further proof that my iBook is the best computer I’ve ever owned (and my first new one).

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

