I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

I woke up this morning with no voice. I can barely speak. The only reason I can come up with for this development is that just before I went to bed (for some bizarre reason Shelley and I stayed up until 4:00 am watching television) I had a horrible sneezing fit which lasted about 20 minutes. It was absolutely horrible.

Gross out warning

When I finally went to bed, I could feel my sinuses drain in a massive flood down the back of my throat.

This has to be the reason. I didn’t smoke particularly all that much, nor did I drink some remarkable amount.

Who knows.

I have to admit, though, that every time I lose my voice (it’s happened a couple of times in the past year) I find it liberating. However garrulous I might be when I get into social situations (and I tend to talk my fool head off, usually), I really enjoy not speaking for long periods of time. I was describing to someone the other day how when Shelley and I were dating, there were periods where I wouldn’t have spoken at all in 24-36 hours. Shelley would come into town and I would be unusually quiet. She’d ask me if something was wrong, and it was occur to me that I hadn’t uttered a single word in over a day.

Several years ago, I had surgery on my tongue and wound up with about 7 stitches underneath my tongue. (Aside—You know it’s going to hurt when an oral surgeon stands over you with a needle and says “Look, I’m not going to kid you. I have to give you a shot in the tip of your tongue. Really. This is going to hurt. A lot. For several days, if not weeks.”) Anyway. I had surgery on my tongue, and I was unable to speak for about a week.

I carried around a little note pad and wrote messages for people.

The funny thing was that I taught my classes this way. Honest. I walked into the class and wrote on the board “I cannot speak. Please follow the instructions on the handout.” I passed out the handout, and if anyone had any questions, I wrote out my response on a sheet of paper for them.

It’s an amazing thing, being unable to speak. If you ever have the chance, don’t speak for a day.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

