I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

I take time out from grading to tell you, both of my readers, how I feel about technology.

I really do hate it, for the most part. Of course, I use all kinds of fairly advanced technology on a daily basis, but I really find it annoying.

I am, of course, curious about technological innovations, but I have a very low tolerance for putting up with bullshit. I really just want it to work. I want it to help me make my life a little easier. I want it to help me be more efficient.

Take, for instance, my Palm. I bought one when they first came out, thinking that it would allow me to take notes on the fly while I was reading, suck the notes into my computer, and print them out on notecards. I did this for about a year. I didn’t use the thing as an organizer (it’s a lot more convenient for me just to use a regular calendar and addressbook). So anyway, I did this for a while. And it worked, mostly.

But it’s the “mostly” that began to bug me. It got to the point where using the thing—for what I needed it to do—became too much of a hassle, and so I sold it.

I did the same thing with Windows and MS Office. I got tired of Windows crashing all the time. I got tired of having to be a complete geek just to be able to troubleshoot it. And I got tired of it not doing what it was supposed to do. So I switched to Macs. I’ve been much, much happier since I switched. I have less down time, I find myself, generally, less distracted by the quirks, and I’m just plain more efficient.

I’ve spent the better part of the evening wrestling with my new FireWire drive(s). I have two now. One barely works at all, and one (the new one) has just started giving me trouble about 15 minutes ago. I just want the stuff to work. Really. That’s all I want. I want to plug the drive in, turn it on, and have it be recognized by my computers. I don’t want to have to diddle around with tests and troubleshooting and power cords.

I just want it to work.

Note this, however, because it is typical of my relationship with technology. As I was troubleshooting the new drive, I noticed something:

I had used the cable from the completely whacky drive to use with the new drive. I unplugged it, grabbed the cable that came with the new drive, and after wrestling with trying to get the drive to mount (FireWire, like an angry god, apparently wants to be treated just so), I’m now about 45% through exporting a 15 Gig video file. *crosses fingers* This is farther than I’ve ever gotten since I began my journey with FireWire just after Xmas.

If the problem all along has been the cable, I’m going to absolutely scream.

Shit. It just gave me an error message.

But then it went back to doing its thing. Weird.

I’m becoming convinced that these problems are related to my air conditioner.

I’m not kidding.

The point of all this? I just want it to work.

In other news, my students seem to write, on the whole, remarkably well. I’m excited! I’m even going to pull one student aside so I can recommend he either try to clep out of my class or take the more advanced (and stimulating) course, “Critical Thinking and Writing.”

Much to do tomorrow. Sleep now I will.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

