I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

Well that’s enough of that. I’m finished grading except for three essays that were turned in via email (and late, I might add), which I will probably grade tomorrow.

I’m incredibly depressed about this semester, mostly because I feel like I’ve failed my students. Normally, one of the things I want to to have happen during the semester is this: I want to inspire my students to stretch themselves and to push the limits of what they think they are capable of. Normally, most of my students come along for the ride on this. This time, however, there have been maybe 4 or 5. The overwhelming majority of my classes are, quite frankly, rather content simply to do the minimum amount of work required for them to make a “C.”

It is a terrible to be haunted by the feeling that you’ve failed your students.

Perhaps it’s the weather. It’s been gloomy and windy all day today, and although we got snow last week, today I have the air conditioning on.

Watching reruns of The West Wing now. I’m going to take a look at these last three essays so I can work on my dissertation tomorrow morning.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

