I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

So everything’s done. Everything. And so now I’m taking the evening off. Everything on television tonight looks like a rerun, so Shelley and I are watching The Matrix just to have something mindless to watch.

Greg is having trouble with one of his students, who is apparently not very smart. That’s putting it mildly. You should just go and read his journal. It’s an awkward situation, and I keep trying to remember how I’ve dealt with it in the past. I had to pull one of my troublesome students aside this semester and tell his this: “Look. I would love to devote my attention entirely to you, but there are 20 other people in this classroom, and so I have to think about what’s fair to them.” He seemed to understand.

I have several students this semester who have some pretty serious problems. Something like 6 of my students are enrolled through a provisional/probationary program the university offers, and many of them have been struggling throughout the semester. I also have a student or two with some pretty serious mental problems. I’m going to get one of them set up with the student counseling services so that he can be evaluated and hopefully diagnosed. I’m not sure what’s wrong with him, but it’s for real, and he needs help.

Alright. As I type this, I’m walking both Shelley and Greg through the process of setting up a blog, but there’s apparently something wrong with the servers, and they’re getting restless.

More later.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

