I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

A surprisingly busy day today. I had to meet with a student at 1:00, and what should have been a 20 minute conference turned into an hour-long one, with me patiently explaining what a sentence fragment is to a freshman in college who has almost completed his first semester of Freshman Composition. This is not a matter of me not doing my job. My job is not to teach grammar. I teach rhetorical analysis, for the most part. I’ve been patiently marking this student’s papers, pointing out his errors, and telling him to seek assistance (either with me or elsewhere) all semester long. But now is the first time he’s done it. Now. The semester is effectively over. This is finals week. His final is tomorrow.

This is why I get frustrated.

OK. Time to dissertate!

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

