I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

OK. So Mac OS 10.1.2 was supposed to be released today, and yet my software update panel has yet again been denied any joy.

Ho hum. I don’t know what the deal is, but for the past few days I’ve been stricken by a nasty DNS bug in OS 10.1.1, and it’s really annoying. This, it turns out, was the problem I was having earlier.

Grr.

In other news, all evening I’ve been corresponding with a student who somehow thinks that taking his 5% final exam (which he slept through) is magically going to transform his grade (which, by the way, is right now a 22), into a passing grade.

I don’t understand. I really don’t. I mean, how do you not notice that you haven’t turned in two essays? How do you not notice that you haven’t gotten them back—when everyone else in the class has? How do you not notice these things?

Greg calls it “magical thinking,” and I suppose he’s right.

And this is not to say that I was some sort of mutant student when I was a freshman in college. I wasn’t. I was a terrible student during my first year of college. But come on…it’s one thing to blow off some classes and make Cs, and another thing entirely to just quit turning assignments in and then expect to still pass the course!

And to make it all worse…this student always types in ALL CAPS when he sends email. I don’t know why.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

