I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

Well, time for me to geek out. That’s right. When I take a break from writing about Victorian hookers, I geek out. And how do I geek out, you might ask? Well…I begin with a bit of reading from Wil Wheaton Dot Net, followed by an installation of Fink, a brilliant little package manager for Darwin (OS X’s Unix core). Once Fink is installed (which takes all of 5 minutes since it’s a click and go kind of installer), I tell it to install a rootless XFree86 on top of OS X. Why? So I can get my mits on some of that crazy free linux software out there. Really, I just want the Gimp, which is basically a free version of Photoshop.

So while I’m doing all of this, I’m listening to my entire CD collection (ripped into about 3,000 mp3s) on “shuffle.” So it’s Ricky Lee Jones followed by Lyle Lovett followed by Tori Amos followed by Led Zeppelin followed by Emmylou Harris followed by the Police followed by Arrested Development followed by Alison Krauss and Union Station followed by …

Grr. Installations failing left and right because I’m an idiot and forgot to install something first.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

