I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

Today in class, I was trying to make a point about an analogy King draws in the “I Have a Dream” speech. I was moving through the speech, teasing out the imagery and metaphors in an effort to show how the text is put together, how it works to make his point, and how the imagery works to position the reader/listener. At one point, King yokes together imagery of shackles and chains (imprisonment) with exile on an island. I asked my students a simple question, aimed at getting them to see that for King, the limiting of freedom connects the two images. Here’s how this little section of the class went:

Me: “Is there any real difference between being in prison and being trapped on a desert island?”
One of my students, loudly: “Yeah! I’ve been in prison and it sucks. At least on a desert island you have the option of going and looking for coconuts.”

Needless to say, we all burst out laughing. Even the student, who turned a bit red once he realized he’d disrupted the flow of the class.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

