I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

Things I have done today, in no particular order:

1) Work with my classes in the library.
2) Read 100 pages of Praeterita
3) Confronted my plagiarist, who offered no defense
4) Received a phone call from the plagiarist’s mother, who requested a meeting tomorrow
5) Been told by my boss to kick it upstairs to her, since I “don’t get paid enough to have to deal with this.”
6) Been called down to our department head’s office, where I was told that the plagiarist’s mother had called
7) Demonstrated to my department head that roughly 60% of the assignment came directly from a web site, and that “quotes” had simply been made up and inserted with bogus citations.
8) Been told by my department head that this is insane and not to worry about it.
9) Gone to the post office
10) Learned that a good friend’s cat had to be put down last night
11) Returned a library book that had been recalled
12) Gone to the coffee shop (8:30 am)
13) Gone to the coffee shop again (4:00 pm)
14) Configured our departmental listserv so that it’s moderated
15) Been witness to the 27 javascript errors my blog generates on older versions of IE
16) Been told that there will probably be teaching work for me this summer
17) Jumped for joy (inside) that I will not have to eat raman noodles all summer
18) Checked the mail
19) Fed the cats
20) Fed the bird
21) Thought about mowing the lawn (probably later today when it cools down)
22) Been taken aback by the following passage from Praeterita:

Hitherto, all architecture, except fairy-finished Milan, had depended with me for its delight on being partly in decay. I revered the sentiment of its age, and I was accustomed to look for the signs of age in the mouldering of its traceries, and in the interstices deepening between the stones of its masonry. This looking for cranny and joint was mixed with the love of rough stones themselves, and of country churches built like Westmoreland cottages.

Here in Lucca I found myself suddenly in the presence of twelfth century buildings, originally set in such balance of masonry that they could all stand without mortar; and in material so incorruptable, that after six hundred years of sunshine and rain, a lancet could not now be put between their joints.

Absolutely for the first time I now saw what medieval builders were, and what they meant. I took the simplest facades for analysis, that of Santa Maria Foris-Portam, and thereon literally began the study of architecture.

23) Thought about redesigning my blog so that it’s simpler
24) Blogged

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

