I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

I don’t want to talk about it much because I’m still incredibly angry, but the meeting today went much as I expected. I did not expect, however, for the entire purpose of the meeting to be retaliatory–it was merely the arena for a character attack on me. I was accused, among other things, of being incompetent, unreasonable, unhelpful, mean, and vindictive.

Ironically, they accepted my accusation; they just wanted to get in a couple of digs before they let it go.

I should say, however, that my boss was stunning. She rose to my defense, successfully countering every charge. In fact, at one point my boss said something not unlike “There is a disparity between what you are telling me and what I know to be true.” During the meeting, I kept thinking that this must have been quite a blow to the parent, who no doubt dearly wanted to believe the child but was forced, after sifting through the facts of the matter, to conclude that this child, an admitted cheater and perpetrator of a fraud, seemed less wholesome, less trustworthy, and less truthful that when they had first walked through the door.

This has been quite a disturbing process for me, since I have effectively seen a student turn on me.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

