I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

Well, everything appears to be back up and running. It’s amazing how easy restoring all your files can be if you make use of the “home” directory. For those who don’t know this, OS X provides each user with a “home” directory, with folders for documents, pictures, movies, music, sites, a library (for preferences), and a public folder. I try to work within this structure as closely as possible, so that when I need to wipe my hard drive (which is very rare) or when I buy a new machine (which has just happened), all I have to do is drag that home directory over to one of my firewire drives and I’m set. It took me all of 20 seconds to get all my documents, pictures, and web sites copied over.

This little machine seems to be working just fine. My only complaints about it at this point are the following:

1) Crappy Rage 128 AGP video card (I’ll eventually replace with an nVidia down the road)
2) Only has a CD-ROM. I’m thinking that once the prices on superdrives or combo drives comes down, I’ll replace it with one of them. I like being able to watch DVDs on my computer when I’m working. I have an external CDRW, so I suppose I could just throw a compatible DVD in there and be done with it… hmmm.

Other than that, I’m pretty happy. It’s loads faster than my trusty iMac, which has served me well for a couple of years, but was getting a bit long in the tooth for me. I always knew that the iMac would be a gamble, considering it’s limited expandability.

I haven’t taken it for a real spin yet (exporting some QuickTime movies or making a VCD), and so I’m interested to see what kinds of preformance boosts I’ll see.

The only snag I’ve encountered is that for some reason this machine doesn’t want to accept a manually assigned IP. It takes one via DHCP and BOOTP just fine, but when I try to give it one, it won’t connect to the internet. Weird.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

