I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

I’ve been meaning to mention that I am really proud of my students. For the past few weeks we’ve been doing a great deal of peer editing. This means that they come in with a draft of an essay and they critique them (sometimes in groups, but usually individually) in class.

Now, back when I first started teaching, I could never get my students to take this process seriously. Over the past few years, however, I’ve been encouraging my students to “tear them up.” And that’s what they do.

On my students’ last assignment, I could clearly tell which parts had been workshopped and which had not. The ones that had been critiqued were characterized by greater clarity, tighter language, and more precise treatments of the argument they were engaging. The ones that hadn’t been workshopped, well, didn’t.

Today they workshopped for most of the class, and at the end of the day, one guy said, under his breath, “Man, I hope they went to town on mine.” When he got is back and saw that it was covered in marks, he yelled out “WHO DID THIS?!?” A female student said, meekly, “I did.”

He looked at her across the room and said “THANK YOU.”

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

