I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

On Sunday, one of our professors gave me a call to see if I could help him out with his computer. I’ve helped this guy out before, and he tends to scratch my back when I scratch his, so it’s really not that big of a deal.

Here’s the situation:

He has an ancient Compaq Presario. It may be a 486, but I’m not sure. I think it’s a 586. His hard drive–get this–is a whopping 640 megabytes. That’s right. This is not a typo. CD-ROMs hold more data than his hard drive. The problem is that he needs to do his taxes, and he doesn’t have enough space to install the newest version of the tax software.

So this morning we went to Staples and picked him up a nice, cheap, Maxtor 20 gig hard drive for something like $80. We also got him a full install version of Windows 98 second edition, since he didn’t have any operating system software. This is the kind of guy who pulled out a stack of 5 1/4″ floppies when I asked him if he had any of the original software.

So anyway, we get the goodies back to his house, back up all his data six ways from Sunday, and then I go about installing the new hard drive. No problems. I install the drive, run the accompanying diagnostic/setup utility, and then reboot.

No drive.

The computer just plain refuses to see it.

I’m at the office now, and I’ve learned that there are some setup utilities that need to be in place on the drive. I’ve downloaded what I need, and so when I get back I’ll see if this does the trick.

This poor guy. All he wants is to do his taxes.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

