I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

I’ve just returned from an interview for a university-wide graduate student award. I was a finalist for it last year as well, but I didn’t win. No one from the English department has ever won.

The first two questions were not what I’d expected at all.

#1–If you could live in any other time period, what would it be?


I rambled on about how difficult the question was, made a quick comment about how horrible most of the time periods before the present era were, and then settled into a discussion of how the 60s were a period where Americans were forced to watch their traditional institutions and ideas crumble. I would’ve liked to have seen that.

#2–What do you feel are the qualities of a good leader?


I launched into a discussion of confidence and persuasive abilities, since with those two what your ideas are don’t really matter. Then I proceeded to deconstruct both my answer and the question by pointing out how I was in fact describing an effective leader rather than a good one. I then talked about how I can’t answer the question without using other words like “good” that only have meaning to me.

Otherwise, it was a nice interview. I made a point to look people in the eye, which I’m bad about not doing. One of my interrogators was a history guy, so we had some things in common.

And I didn’t pee on myself or shout out obscenities, which is always a plus.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

