I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

ring…

ring…

ring…

Me: Hello?

Her: Hello?* Is this Mr. Rogers?

Me: Yes.

Her: Hi? My name is Rachel and I’m with the graduate college? We’re trying to raise money for a graduate student fellowship, and we’re calling alumni to ask them to donate $10-$15 to help fund this award, which recognizes outstanding graduate students?

Me: Is this the “Distinguished Graduate Student Fellowship”?

Her: Yes?

Me: I was just awarded that this semester. I’m still a graduate student.

Her: Oh?

Me: So you see, I’d be giving you money that I would then get back.

Her: Yeah? That doesn’t make any sense, does it.

Me: No.

Her: Well, thank you for your time?

Me: No problem.


* All of her sentences were spoken as questions unless they were in fact questions, in which case they were spoken as statements.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

