I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

It’s the morning blog-time with Scott and Shelley! We’re both sitting here, I with my coffee (I don’t usually drink coffee, but today for some reason I wanted some), she with her tea, reading the various blogs we read on a daily basis.

I am burning her four CDs.

So here’s what we’ve been talking about: Jerry Kindall is offering to allow people to share some server space with him. Last night Shelley thought it sounded like a good idea.

I’ve been increasingly unhappy with my upload speeds, which are capped at 10k/s. While this is much faster than a 56k modem, it’s still pretty slow. I’ve been thinking about upgrading our DSL to something better, but I don’t know how much that will cost. Surely, though, is won’t be that much. The SWBell DSL information site says that I have 128Kbps upload speeds, and that’s most definitely not what we’re getting. My iMac is serving pages fast enough, I suppose, but wow uploading largish files is tedious.

This morning, however, I realized that my dynDNS is working fine, and has been working for a while now to redirect a select few people to my iMac, which runs Apache. (God bless OS X. Really). I can set Shelley up with an account on my iMac and give her FTP access to it. Or…I could set up the router to point to a little Win 98 box we’re using as a file server.

I started think about all of this because I’m constantly running out of space for the pictures I include on my blog. My iDisk is always nearly full, and I get tired of having to hunt up free storage space.

The only problem I can see is that I sometimes take my iMac offline–I boot it into OS 9 to work on video capture and some audio recording–and during those times the sites hosted on it would be unavailable. Similarly, if I get to the point that I’m moving lots of large files around, we might run into extra charges for heavy use.

Another option is this: I have a nice little K62-400 box around the house that I could throw some version of Linux on. The only problem with that is that I find Linux one of the most unpleasant experiences in the universe. It’s ugly. It’s difficult. It’s unintuitive. The documentation is terrible.

So what should I do? Go with the iMac serving web pages currently? Set up a linux box? Upgrade my DSL? Drink more coffee?

In other news, Jerry posted a link to this site about broken jokes. Go there and laugh. A lot.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

