I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

Why I Need to Get Some File Synchronization Software

I work in various places–at the coffee shop, at home, at work, at the library–and on two different computers (a laptop and a desktop). Up until now I’ve had no problems with this. The laptop is my main work computer, and when I’m done I copy the files I change over to a little file server we have set up in the house.

Yesterday, I spent about 5 hours editing 28 pages of the introduction to my dissertation. The changes were mostly minor, but still. It took a long time. I have no idea how it happened, but i accidentally overwrote the corrections I made with an older version.

I lost them all.

I’m on page 19 of the re-editing now, and while I’m moving much more quickly through the material this time (since I remember what I wrote), I’m still kicking myself.

On to page 20 now.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

