I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

Of late, we have developed a cat pee issue. I believe I have blogged about our efforts in other places, but for now, suffice it to say that we have an official cat pee issue. I should say at this point that I’m not talking about the litter box smell wafting into the living room. I’m talking about a cat peeing on the carpet in front of our television. This has happened in the past, but we’ve immediately thoroughly cleaned the area with Nature’s Miracle and the smell went away. This is something different. This is one of our cats, nearly every night now, it seems, peeing on the carpet.

We don’t know why. Litter boxes are clean and plentiful, as are food and water.

Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t particularly enjoy the smell of cat urine in my living room. Really. I don’t.

Seriously.

We bought a little tiny steam cleaner and attacked the offensive area with all our might, but this merely made the room smell of wet cat pee, rather than the normal cat pee smell. It didn’t get to the carpet pad.

It’s pretty clear at this point that we’re going to have to get a real steam-cleaner and go after the area (luckily it’s a small area less than 3′ square). Or perhaps hire someone to do it for us.

But until then, we’ve undertaken the painful task of locking the two suspects up in our laundry-room (where their litterboxes are) with some food, water, and a kitty-bowl for Dave to sleep in. The two cats who are back there often sleep in this room, so this isn’t that big of a deal for them–aside from its being out of the ordinary. Our other option is crating them.

Time passes….

None of the other cats in the house could stand having two of their maligned brethren locked up. We have let the cats out of the back, but have moved two litterboxes (or, as the hax0rs say, two of the litterboxen) out of the back and into other parts of the house. I’m operating on the theory that perhaps the litterboxes are too close together (four boxes crammed into a fairly small room).

And so now, at 1:05 am, I am back to working on the conclusion to my paper, which finish up my larger point by opening up a discussion about the benefits of public online communities (that is, online communities where individuals’ identities are public, and where, moreover, the participants know one another) as opposed to “anonymous” communities (such as IRC or other forms of chat).

When I’m not typing away at that, I’m fiddling with how to get RTFs onto my Newton. I think I’ve finally gotten it figured out.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

