I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

This is, I think, rather old news, but The British Library wants to archive the web.

The library fears that as national debate and culture takes place increasingly online, large parts of our collective heritage are being lost to the ephemeral nature of the internet.

Yeesh.

Greg and I have had this discussion before, and this is why I still keep a “real” journal. Telephones and email will, it seems likely, leave us with less record than ever before of daily life at the turn of the twentieth century. I have all my correspondence for about 4 years saved, but it just became too onerous of a task, and I had to stop. What do we do with chat sessions? Save them, too? How many of these blogs will be preserved in a non-electronic form? How many people print out all of this digital detritus and save it?

The problem, of course, is that there’s a very good chance that whatever archive the British Library manages to come up with will rely upon technology that will be obsolete before it is anywhere near finished.

* * *

In other news, I just got an announcement for my High School Reunion. Two years late. And the MIA list is about 150 people long. I’m even on it.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

