I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

I’ve been thinking about the American accent lately. When I read the kinds of things I tend to read (Victorian literature), I usually hear a British accent in my head (and more specifically, my Londoner friend Nikki explained to me over a pint one night, a fine, middle-class, west London accent. I’m sure it’s probably actually an accent from elsewhere, but I don’t know enough about regional dialects in England to speak about this). When Shelley and I were there last summer, I was stuck for the first time at the nasal quality of the American accent. Can either of the one or two Brits who read this confirm that this is the case? Do we Americans all sound like we’re pinching our noses when we speak? Or was I just being hyper-sensitive? Eldan? Any thoughts?

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

