I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

So it was a fairly uneventful day. It’s been snowing all day, but the temperature is around 34 degrees, and so nothing is freezing. It is, however, snowing so hard that the snow is sticking to itself before it has time to melt, and so we’re getting some nice accumulation at this point.

I spent some time today informing all the bigwigs in the department that I’ve set up a department-wide email list for both faculty and graduate students. Why would I do this? We have a list for composition instructors. Another for tech writers. Another for TESL. Another for faculty. Another for select parts of faculty. Another for staff. But not a single email list for everyone in the department.

Go figure.

So I took the 35 seconds it takes to set up a listserv, and today I let everyone know that it is now up and running. I was frankly a bit worried that I’d overstepped some kind of boundary (I am, after all, only a graduate student, and here I am instituting things that will affect faculty), but when I told my department head about it, she thought it was a great idea, and immediately (along with our administrative secretary) began counting the ways this is going to save us time/money/heartache/trouble.

So that’s all good.

Today is a total grading extravaganze! All grading, all the time! I have about 12 or so essays to grade before tomorrow, and I need to grade a bunch of daily work as well, and so I’m not planning on going to bed before 3:00.

Shelley is at work now. She’ll be home later (7:00-ish), and so I have the house to myself. All the better for grading, my dear.

You know, we should set up a team blog for teachers….

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

