I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

We now take you back to your regularly scheduled program.

I’m completely finished grading (although I think I caught a plagiarist…ugh). All major essays, all daily work, and all minor assignments that I have in my possession have either been graded or I’ve required them to re-do the assignment.

For some reason, I’m not completely exhausted. Oh wait. I know why I’m not completely exhausted. I went to the coffee shop this morning (my regular routine) from 8:00 am till about 10 or 10:30. After my office hour, I went back to the coffee shop to grade some more. This was from 3:00 until about 5:00. At 7:00, I went back to the coffee shop until 9:30.

Hmmm. I wonder why I’m not sleepy?

In other news, I have decided what my massive, 50-year project is going to be (don’t all academics have to have one of those?). There is no database of 19th century periodicals. Nothing. There is one index that is of use, but it is primarily used for identifying the usually unnamed author. And it’s woefully incomplete.

What I want to do is write a series of NEH grant proposals to fund some people to help catalog the tables of contents of the larger 19th century periodicals (Frasier’s, MacMillan’s, Cornhill, etc.) and place them in a searchable database.

I think this would be incredibly useful, don’t you? Anyone know anything about grant writing?

In other news, for some reason the little mp3/CD player I got for Christmas (a cheapo little Samsung) seems to stop playing MP3s after a couple of minutes. It just skips to the next one. No idea what’s going on.

Must sleep now, since there’s dissertating to be done tomorrow, now that I have my time back! Woo woo!

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

