I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

leave a comment »

I’ve just discovered RW, the blog of Joseph Deumer, who is a humanities professor at Clarkson University. It’s a pretty interesting read, although I have to admit that reading some of his entries are a bit like reading through my notes for my doctoral comprehensive exams. That’s not meant as a dig; it’s meant to indicate that there are certain questions about literature and philosophy that don’t go away.

I have a morbid fascination with the blogs of academics, and I have to admit that the primary reason I switched over to blogger from livejournal is that the level of discourse seems to be much more elevated (read: there are more grownups using blogger, and there are more adolescents and teenagers using livejournal).

Deumer is also an MFA from Iowa, which is a pretty big deal. I suspect he might know my boss, who was also at Iowa around that time getting a Ph.D. in Irish literature. (The amazing singer/songwriter Greg Brown was her neighbor while she was there)

So anyway, go check out Deumer’s site.

That is all.

Written by srogers

July 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

