I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Patio

with 6 comments

So, on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, I bought some flagstone to build a little patio. And then it rained. And then the basement flooded. And then we shop vac-ed about 250 gallons of water out of the basement.

Now that the rain and flooding have stopped, I was able to get to the patio today.

Here was the process.

Here’s the before:

Before Patio

Here’s the stone I bought:

The Stone

The bed, mostly torn out:

Digging Out

Bed Dug Out

The 2x4s are for edging so that I can level the sand. I’ve just left them in the ground.

I needed somewhere to put the soil, so I put it, initially, in my truck. Later, I decided to make a new flowerbed around the base of our gigantic willow tree:

New Bed Constructed

With the bed torn out, I went to get the sand. This is what a half yard of coarse sand does to the bed of a Toyota Tacoma:

Half Yard of Sand in Tacoma

Here’s a close-up:

Tacoma Wheelwells

The wheels really aren’t supposed to be that close to the wells.

Then I unloaded the sand, one bucket at a time, onto the area:

DSCN1010

I raked it around, then tamped, then applied more sand, then leveled again. Here’s what it looked like all finished:

Sand Tamped and Leveled

Ready for the stone!

It took about an hour to sort out what order the stones would go in. Once I had them mostly in place, I dumped more sand on and broomed it into the cracks:

Applying Sand

And broomed:

Brooming the Sand

And then I ran our of sand:

DSCN1020

And then I hit it with a hose:

Patio Hosed Down

And then I put our cheap, plastic chairs on it:

Patio Finished

It’s going to take a few days for the stones and sand to settle a little more, and I need to get a few bags of paver sand at Home Despot tomorrow, but once it’s all settled, it should make a nice little patio for us to spend our summer evenings on.

Written by srogers

June 4, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks spiffy!

    I’ll admit I was hoping for a glimpse of your chin. Which raises the question of whether it was causation or correlation connecting patio-building and beard-shaving.

    meg

    June 5, 2011 at 8:35 am

  2. Very very cool!!!

    Leah

    June 5, 2011 at 8:37 am

  3. Love, love, love!!

    tomorrow

    June 5, 2011 at 10:02 am

  4. Er, isn’t that sand going to wash away when the first snow melts? I’d have thought Quikrete might have been in your plans.

    Linkmeister

    June 7, 2011 at 12:10 am

  5. Nah. You can set them either way (although I may come back and mortar it in place later); the sand compresses over time and gets hard as a rock.

    scott

    June 7, 2011 at 7:11 am

  6. I admit your climate is more conducive to that occurrence than mine; sand here would just erode away over time.

    Linkmeister

    June 7, 2011 at 12:22 pm


Leave a Reply

