I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

International Relations

with one comment

So.

I woke up this morning and started calling lost and found at London-Stansted. The line was busy. For an hour. And their hours of operation on their voicemail are different from the web site.

Once I finally got through, I talked to a man who told me that he was stymied by this lost piece of luggage. He transferred me to someone else. This guy was immensely helpful. I told him what had happened. I told him that I was assuming that the bag would have wound up in his office. He laughed and said “why would you assume that?” He said he had been dealing with Ryanair about this off and on since Friday night, and he had no idea what was going on. He asked me for some more details about my dufflebag, and, now being in the room with our identical bag, I was able to tell him that it was a “Ricardo.”

He said “I have that bag!”

He confirmed that if I took the train down there I would be able to leave with the bag. I headed out. Tube from King’s Cross to Liverpool street (£6.60). 45 minutes express train from Liverpool St. to Stansted (£21).

I got off the train; I walked up to lost and found. He said “You that American with the Ricardo?” I said yes. He went into the back, came out with my bag, had me sign a document, and then turned to his buddy, looked at my bag, and said “Hey, what do you call this? What kind of bag is that?” His friend said “I dunno. A suitcase?” He said “I call this a ‘hold all.'” I said “In America, we call this a dufflebag.” (Yesterday, in Germany, Greg had suggested that the Brits might insist that it was a “Rumblebum”).

He said “When I think ‘dufflebag,’ I look for a bag with a drawstring.” I said, “Well, now we all know,” confirmed that I didn’t need to pay anything, and walked off to the train. The whole interaction took maybe 5 minutes.

I got back on the same train I’d come in on.

We depart tomorrow around noon, Icelandic volcano willing, and arrive in SLC around 8:00. I figure we’ll make it back to the house at about 9:30 or 10:00.

We’re ready to get home.

Written by srogers

May 23, 2011 at 11:57 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay!

    Chris

    May 23, 2011 at 4:29 pm


Leave a Reply

