I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

Retraining My Fingers

with 3 comments

Lately, I have been trying to learn some bluegrass lead techniques. I’m a pretty fast picker, but my fret hand actually isn’t quite as fast, so this is an interesting experience. Some of this stuff, while relatively simple, my fingers just do. not. want. to. do.

One of the most interested things about this experience is this: if I were learning this stuff by ear, I would not have used the positions that the bluegrass pickers do. What they’ll do out of a first position C major chord I’d want to do as a scale elsewhere on the neck. The result is sort of disorientation that I imagine is like when a right-handed person is forced to eat as a lefty: you know the territory, but it just feels weird.

Written by srogers

November 22, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, I play that on the accordion!

    meg

    November 22, 2010 at 11:38 pm

  2. Man, I have this electric I would just like to know how to play. And if I could learn some bluegrass? Bonus.

    Brian

    November 29, 2010 at 8:31 pm

  3. Brian: Youtube, man. If I had had youtube 20+ years ago when I was learning to play, I’d be so much better it wouldn’t even be funny.

    Scott

    November 29, 2010 at 9:08 pm


Leave a Reply

