I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

I Made A Thingy!

with 3 comments

First, I dug a hole.

Step 1: Dig a Hole

Then, I cut a post:

Step 2: Cut the Post

Then I figured out how big my board needed to be:

Step 3: Figure Out The Size of the Board

Then I marked my holes.

Step 4: Mark The Holes

Then I drilled!

Step 5: Drill the Holes

Then I mounted my hinges:

Step 6: Mount the Hinges

Then I mounted the board onto the post and hinges:

Step 7: Find the Center

Then I stuck it in the ground and poured in the quick-crete:

Step 8: Stick It In the Ground

Then I painted the board while I waited on the concrete to dry:

Step 9: Paint

Then I mounted my hose roller thing!

Step 10: Mount the Roller

And now I have a hose roller that turns to face either the side of the house, where I often need it—

Step 11: Roll'er Up!

—or the front of the house, where I often need it:

Step 12: Notice that the Hose Isn't Long Enough

The only thing left to do is run to Home Despot and grab a coupling to stick two feeder hoses (I have another one) together so that there’s enough hose to let it turn more easily.

I had originally planned to do this with a piece of chain-link fencepost and a hinge in the middle of the board to let it turn nearly 360º, but the fenceposts were waaaaaaay more expensive than I anticipated.

Written by srogers

July 14, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And an impressive thingy it is!

    Linkmeister

    July 15, 2010 at 12:30 am

  2. Were the wheels on that other thingy insufficienly rolly?

    Greg

    July 15, 2010 at 1:41 pm

  3. The roller I have been using for a while now has two design problems: 1) it tips over easily; 2) it doesn’t roll up very well. This new thingy has the benefit of never tipping over and rolling up well, since it moves in the direction of the hose as it’s rolling it.

    scott

    July 15, 2010 at 2:59 pm


Leave a Reply

