I Know What I Know

Just another WordPress.com site

The Wrong People

with one comment

Ages ago, I was discussing baseball with a friend of mine. He said “Look, the best players in the world only get a hit a third of the time. That’s an indication of how hard this sport is.” My response was that perhaps it’s an indication that the wrong people are playing it.

Every time I think about things like this, I’m generally reminded of how until the iPhone came along, cell phones and their features were largely designed by the carriers, not the hardware manufacturers. And every time I think about that, I wonder how many other instances there are where the manufacturer of something simply isn’t very good at it and people just accept it. TVs? Digital watches? Remote controls?

Written by srogers

February 24, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Was I that friend?
    Also, I would say PCs. And most laptops (particularly the Stinkpads). Laptops should be (as) light (as possible) and sturdy. Until very recently, my observations would have told me that only laptops made by that fruit company fit either of those bills very well. And even though my old fruit company laptop (which is blue! and has a handle!) is sort of heavy, it is, I daresay, more rugged than 90% of all computing machines on the market today.

    Greg

    February 25, 2010 at 12:16 am


Leave a Reply

